Environmental Experiential Learning Program for Teachers and Students


The Smithsonian Anacostia Community Museum and DDOE Aquatic Resources Education Center have partnered to develop an environmental experiential learning program for teachers and students for Spring 2013. This 3-pronged program will educate, engage and empower youth with information about the Anacostia River, aquatic life and water issues in the District. Students will first visit the Smithsonian Anacostia Community Museum’s Anacostia River exhibit which will educate them on the history of the Anacostia river from environmental, social and economic perspectives as well as provide insights on current efforts taking place to restore the river. Then they will visit Aquatic Resources Education Center where they will discover aquatic wildlife in the District and how their actions impact them. Finally, they will learn about and perform water quality testing directly from the Anacostia River. This program will provide an opportunity to students to have visual and hands-on experiences in the sciences while providing context for the lessons learned.

RSVP is required; call 202.633.4844.

Available Dates:

Monday, May 6; Thursday, May 9; Tuesday, May 14; Wednesday, May 15;

Tuesday, May 21; Thursday, May 23; Wednesday, May 29; Friday, May 31

Wednesday, June 5; Friday, June 7; Tuesday, June 11; Thursday, June 13

More Information: Smithsonian Anacostia Comm Museum-DDOE AREC Program Spring 2013

Date/Time
05/06/2013 - 06/13/2013
All Day

Categories