Whole Kids Foundation Garden Grant In Partnership with FoodCorps


TIMELINE:

Application deadline: October 31, 2013 at 5pm CT (3pm PT, 4pm MT, 6pm ET)

Review Period: Winter 2014

Notification of all applicants: March 2014

The School Garden Grant Program is a collaboration between Whole Kids Foundation and FoodCorps.  A school garden is a vital educational tool—every seed planted sprouts a new opportunity for kids to cultivate healthy eating habits!  Teaching kids to garden helps them learn about complex topics like sustainability and conservation, food systems, and community awareness.

To be eligible for the $2,000 (US$) School Garden Grant, an applicant must be a nonprofit K-12 school (public, private or charter – elementary, middle, or secondary) and/or a 501(c)(3) organization that is developing or currently maintaining a garden project on school grounds that will engage children with fresh fruits and vegetables.

Garden projects may be at any stage of development (planning, construction or operation). In selecting grant recipients, priority will be given to both limited-resource communities and to projects that demonstrate strong buy-in from stakeholders, as well as demonstrating ability to financially sustain the garden.

There is a limit of one garden grant per school. We will only consider applications in the U.S. (including territories) and Canada.  We are not able to fund projects in other countries at this time.

To be considered, applications must be completed online by October 31, 2013. Applications must be complete and submitted in order to be considered. Initial grantees will be announced March 2014. Grant funds will only be disbursed after a Grant Agreement has been signed and returned by grantee. Final funding decisions will be made and grants will be awarded by the Whole Kids Foundation. Funds will be disbursed to recipients as a one-time, one-year award. Completion of an end-of-grant survey will be required for all recipients.

For any questions related to the application process, first review the FAQ and preview the Application, then contact[email protected] if you need assistance.

Thank you for your commitment to gardening and helping to grow healthy kids!

With deep appreciation,

Whole Kids Foundation and FoodCorps

  

https://www.gdg.do/prod1/portal/portal.jsp?c=1319602&p=6258602&g=6258622&d=6258622

Date/Time
10/31/2013
All Day

Categories