Chesapeake Bay Trust Annual Awards Program

Do you know an exceptional teacher, student or volunteer who is making a difference in their community and for the Chesapeake Bay? Then we want to hear from you!

Each year, the Trust recognizes outstanding achievements by educators, students, and individuals who work to restore the Chesapeake Bay and local waters. Currently we are accepting applications and/or nominations for five awards outlined below including TWO $5,000 scholarships. To apply and for more information, please visit the Trust’s Awards Registration Page.

Applications and/or nominations are due by December 20 at 5:00 pm and must be submitted online. With questions, please contact Kristin Foringer at 410-974-2941, ext 113.

Now Accepting Applications:

Teacher of the Year
This award is given annually to a teacher who motivates and inspires students by promoting environmental awareness and stewardship. The winning applicant will receive a $2,500 award to go toward funding Trust-approved environmental field trips and/or outdoor education work at their school or organization.

Student of the Year Scholarship
This award provides a $5,000 scholarship to a Maryland high school or college student who has shown an outstanding commitment to environmental stewardship, Chesapeake Bay restoration and community involvement.

Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship
This award provides a $5,000 scholarship to a Maryland high school or college student who demonstrates a commitment to improving the health of the environment and the Chesapeake Bay and who, as a student of color, exhibits exemplary leadership in promoting diversity and inclusion in his/her school and broader community.

Ellen Fraites Wagner Award
This award, for the outstanding Steward of the Year, recognizes an individual who has shown exceptional commitment to the Chesapeake Bay and leadership in the Bay community.

Melanie Teems Award
This award recognizes an exemplary project funded by the Chesapeake Bay Trust that engages Maryland students or citizens in Bay education or restoration work.

Read about last year’s award winners on our Awards page.


5:00 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *